News Release

Web Site: News Release Back to News Releases Print News Release FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: May 7, 2002 CONTACT: David L. Gray Director, Communications & Public Information 1-800-952-7403, x208 Commissioners Receive Library Advocacy Award FALMOUTH - The Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners were awarded the Massachusetts Library Association's (MLA) Library Advocacy Award for 2002. The Award was presented on Friday, May 3, 2002 during the MLA Annual Conference in Falmouth by MLA President James Sutton, Director of the Memorial Hall Library in Andover, to Commissioners John Arnold of Westborough, Edward Bertorelli of Milford, Deborah Hill Bornheimer of Duxbury, Walter Cameron of Palmer, John Henderson of Abington, Joseph Hopkins of Amherst, Dr. Em Claire Knowles of Medford, Elia Marnik of Reading, Robert Mooney of Nantucket, and former Commissioner Robert Hall of Newton. The Commissioners were recognized for their volunteer efforts in support of libraries and the leadership they provide for library development by attending monthly meetings and by participating in library functions throughout the state. "By advocating for excellence in library services for the Commonwealth's residents," said Mr. Sutton, "this year's advocacy award winners have helped to publicize the message that Massachusetts libraries are important." "These library advocates have worked with MLA and the rest of the Massachusetts library community to secure funding that promotes excellence in library services. Among the achievements of these advocates has been the passing of state funding for the construction and renovation of public libraries, and for enhanced regional library programs supporting public, academic, school and special libraries in Massachusetts." In addition to the MLA Advocacy Award, the Commissioners also received a citation from Acting Governor Jane Swift thanking them for their service to the Commonwealth. MLA President James Sutton, left, presenting Commissioners Robert Hall, Dr. Em Claire Knowles, Robert Mooney, Deborah Hill Bornheimer, Walter Cameron, Elia Marnik, Joseph Hopkins and Edward Bertorelli with the MLA Library Advocacy Award for 2002. Commissioners John Arnold and John Henderson were not present. The Board of Library Commissioners ( is the agency of state government with the statutory authority and responsibility to organize, develop, coordinate and improve library services throughout the Commonwealth. The Board advises municipalities and library trustees on the operation and maintenance of public libraries, including construction and renovation. It administers state and federal grant programs for libraries and promotes cooperation among all types of libraries through regional library systems and automated resource sharing. It also works to ensure that all residents of the Commonwealth, regardless of their geographic location, social or economic status, age, level of physical or intellectual ability or cultural background, have access to essential new electronic information technologies and significant electronic databases. Back to News Releases
Page last updated on 10/20/2016