FY2015 Budget Progress & FY2001-2014 History

The budget process begins in January when the Governor sends the administration's budget to the House. During January and February, House and Senate members meet individually with the chairs of House and Senate Ways and Means to list budget priorities. House and Senate Ways and Means hold hearings during February and March. House Ways and Means releases its budget in mid-April; amendments are filed and the House votes on its final budget in late April.

Next, Senate Ways and Means releases its budget in mid-May; amendments are filed and the full Senate approves its budget in late May. Any differences in the House and Senate budget are sent to a Conference Committee. The Conference Committee usually finishes its work in June; both House and Senate must approve the Conference Committee budget before it is sent to the Governor. Governor signs the budget and then it becomes law. In most years, this process is completed before July 1st.

FY2015 Budget Progress

Update 11/20/14: On November 19, the Governor announced immediate cuts to the FY2015 state budget, resulting in a 1.5 percent budget reduction across all MBLC budget lines.

The Governor signed the FY2015 budget on July 11, 2014. The FY2015 budget increased all MBLC lines and included a new line item (7000-9508) to fund the Massachusetts Center for the Book.

Line 7000-9501 increased State Aid to Public Libraries by over $2 million and authorized the MBLC to award waivers "in excess of the waiver limit" set in statute (no limit on waivers).

Line 7000-9506 increased funding for Library Technology and Resource Sharing by $800,000 (reduced by $52,674 as a result of 9C cuts) and stipulated that not less than $600,000 be spent in support of library networks.

Line 7000-9401 provides $0.407 per capita to the Library for the Commonwealth for every resident of Massachusetts. This line is split between the Library for the Commonwealth and the Massachusetts Library System.

FY2015 Budget

Item No.

Item Name

FY 2014 Budget

FY 2015 Budget

FY 2015 Funds Available after February 9C

FY 2015 Governor's 9C Reductions

7000-9101 Board of Library Commissioners $1,012,047 $1,120,047 $1,077,431 $ (42,616)
7000-9401 State Aid to Regional Libraries $9,579,475 $9,888,482 $9,692,731 $ (190,751)
7000-9402 Talking Book Library (Worcester) $441,394 $446,828 $438,205 $ (8,623)
7000-9406 Talking Book & Machine Lending (Perkins) $2,455,408 $2,516,693 $2,468,121 $ (48,752)
7000-9501 State Aid to Public Libraries $6,823,657 $9,000,000 $8,847,300 $ (152,700)
7000-9506 Library Technology & Resource Sharing $1,929,238 $2,729,238 $2,676,564 $ (52,674)
7000-9508 Center for the Book n/a $125,000 $122,587 $ (2,413)
TOTAL: $22,241,219 $25,821,288 $25,322,939 $ (498,349)

Budget History

For past budget information, refer to the documents below.

This Web site, and other programs of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners, is funded in part with funds from the
Institute of Museum and Library Services, a federal agency that fosters innovation, leadership and a lifetime of learning.
Page last updated on 03/2/2015