State Advisory Council on Libraries

The State Advisory Council on Libraries (SACL) is an advisory group appointed by the Board, whose purpose is to involve libraries and library users throughout the Commonwealth in policy decisions regarding implementation of LSTA. As part of this responsibility, SACL members review and evaluate grant applications and make funding recommendations to the Board of Library Commissioners.

To insure input from all types of libraries, SACL consists of 16 members with representation from public, academic, school, special, and institution libraries, as well as libraries serving the blind and physically handicapped. In addition, five members of the council represent users of all types of libraries.

SACL Members

Appointed to Terms Ending 9-30-2022

  • Alida Hanson - School Libraries
  • Sara Marks - Academic Libraries
  • Nancy Hughes - Special/Prison Libraries

Appointed to Terms Ending 9-30-2023

  • Jessica Bell - Special Libraries
  • Chris Chanyasulkit - Library Users
  • Kim Cochrane - School Libraries
  • James Gleason - Underrepresented Populations
  • Esme Green - Public Libraries
  • Jessica Vilas Novas - Public Libraries (>50k)
  • Eric Poulin - Library Users

Appointed to Terms Ending 9-30-2024

  • Tim Cherubini - Library Users
  • Stacy Collins - Academic Libraries
  • Hermayne Gordon - Public Libraries

MBLC Liaisons

  • Vicky Biancolo
  • Debby Conrad

For More Information

Robert Favini, Head of Library Advisory and Development
617-725-1860 x237
(in Massachusetts) 800-952-7403, x237

Amy Clayton, Administrative Coordinator
617-725-1860 x228
(in Massachusetts) 800-952-7403, x228