FY 2023 Municipal Appropriation Requirement (MAR) Waivers

At its regular monthly meeting on February 2, 2023, the Board of Library Commissioners granted waivers of the FY2023 Municipal Appropriation Requirement (MAR), and certified the communities below to receive FY2023 State Aid to Public Libraries.

As part of the Waiver application process, municipalities are required to complete a Disproportionate Cut Worksheet to determine whether the cut to the library budget was disproportionate when compared to the overall municipal budget. A cut to the library budget is considered disproportionate when the library budget reduction exceeds the overall municipal budget cut by 5% or more.

For more information, please see the FY23 State Aid to Public Libraries MAR Compliance Waiver Spreadsheet.

Waivers granted to municipalities under the 5% disproportionate cut threshold:

1. Duxbury 5. Stoughton
2. Fairhaven 6. Walpole
3. Hanover 7. Ware
4. Lawrence 8. Woburn




For More Information

Mary Rose Quinn, Head of State Programs
617-725-1860 x220
857-488-7155 (Mobile)

Jen Inglis, State Aid Specialist
617-725-1860 x227
857-488-6112 (Mobile)